FLARE Member in the Newsview all news

FLARE Member of the Month ... Nancy Kegan Smith

Nancy Kegan Smith Ms. Smith worked for the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) as an archivist from 1973 until 2012 when she retired. She started her career as an archivist at the Lyndon Baines Johnson Presidential Library in Austin, Texas.
FLARE Member of the Month ... Nancy Kegan Smith
More Info >

FLARE/American University Announcementsall announcements

Call for Applications ... Inaugural Editor FLARE E-Journal

Call for Applications ... Inaugural Editor FLARE E-Journal

During 2023, the First Ladies Association for Research and Education (FLARE) will appoint an inaugural editor to launch an e-journal that reflects the research and education mission of the organization. This is a unique opportunity to influence and shape a new journal in a field where nothing else like it exists. FLARE was launched in June 2021, and has members from a wide variety of disciplines and professions.

More Info >
Jill Biden Says Namibia’s Vibrant Democracy Made It Her Choice for First Africa Stop
Life and Legacy of Rosalynn Carter
Barbara Bush and George H.W. Bush’s Caring Faith Will Be Spotlighted at Houston’s Superstar Author Night
40 years on, Betty Ford's impact on addiction and recovery is as strong as ever
View All First Ladies in the News
Our Mission
The mission of FLARE is to create and sustain a network to promote and publicize research and education relevant to the contributions, lives, impacts, and lasting legacies of U.S. First Ladies.
Our Vision
FLARE will be the primary association to encourage interdisciplinary collaboration and outreach among scholars, institutions, First Ladies’ staff, biographers, archivists, journalists, and public historians interested in research and education about the lasting legacy of U.S. First Ladies.


FLARE Focus more information

FLARE Focus on Mrs. Lincoln and Mental Health: A Short Apology

Haley Gray

Research reveals that First Lady Mary Todd Lincoln was very different as a child from who she evolved into as an adult. Mrs. Lincoln, as noted by many childhood friends, was the embodiment of joy and spontaneity; she was described as "the very creature of excitement" by a young lawyer in 1840. Later tales of Mrs. Lincoln depict a woman who was struck by tragedy, emotionally hurt, and mentally destroyed by the time of her death in 1882. She had no ability to take her case to social media or to engage with mental health awareness organizations. Instead, her life devolved partly through lack of understanding by the medical community, the courts, the people around her, and public opinion. Today, seven score and one year later, Mrs. Lincoln is deserving of compassion, care, and an apology.

read more >

Upcoming Events view all events

 March 2023 

None at this time.

First Ladies Birthdays view all events

March 12, 2023

Jane Appleton Pierce

March 12, 1806

March 13, 2023

Abigail Powers Fillmore

March 13, 1798

March 16, 2023

Patricia “Pat” Ryan Nixon

March 16, 1912

March 29, 2023

Lou Henry Hoover

March 29, 1874

Kristin Ahlberg

Mary R. Anderson

Thomas J. Balcerski

Maurine Beasley

Allida Black

Pamela G. Bourland-Davis

Mary C. Brennan

Paulette Brinka

Mary Balfour Calvert

Stacy Cordery

Erika N. Cornelius Smith

Susan Donius

Sharon Fawcett

Lewis L. Gould

Nichola Gutgold

Laura Gutin

Linda B. Hobgood

Edwina and Tom Johnson (Atlanta)

Kay Sebring-Roberts Kuhlmann

Christopher J. Leahy

Heath Hardage Lee

Anne F. Mattina

Lisa Hill McCubbin

Nick Natalle

Valerie Palmer-Mehta

Barbara Perry

G. Joseph Pierron

Lindsay B. Reynolds

Rebecca Boggs Roberts

Mary Stockwell

Larry and Louann Temple

Elizabeth Lorelei Thacker-Estrada

Courtney C. Travers

Tammy R. Vigil

Sharon Williams Leahy

Jeanne Ryan Wolfson


Kay Zerwick