Complete Story


FLARE members are invited to nominate a member of the organization for the 2022 Lewis L. Gould Award

The 2022 Lewis L. Gould Award

         FLARE members are invited to nominate a member of the organization for the 2022 Lewis L. Gould Award

         The Lewis L. Gould Award was presented for the first time in 2021 to Dr. Lewis L. Gould, and is named in his honor. The founders of FLARE hope to present this award annually in recognition of Dr. Gould’s pioneering scholarship in the study of American first ladies.

         The description from our website reads: “The Lewis L. Gould Award is presented to a member of FLARE who has, in the course of his or her noteworthy career, made distinguished contributions to the field of first lady research and education. Nominees should demonstrate Dr. Gould’s unwavering commitment to excellence while encouraging and furthering the study of American first ladies.”

         All members of FLARE are eligible for nomination except for those serving on the Gould Award Committee. A Gould Award nominee should have a long and distinguished career that includes significant contributions to scholarship and education about first ladies.

Nomination letters should persuasively address how the applicant meets the following criteria:

  • The quality, academic rigor, and influence of the nominee’s scholarship and publications
  • The impact of the nominee’s public communication and educational activities
  • The nominee’s fostering of additional knowledge about first ladies through teaching, institutional or public service (broadly construed)
  • The influence and creativity of the nominee’s work or educational activities on other scholars, researchers, and/or the public.

Because the disciplinary specialization and area of focus of nominees may vary broadly, the Gould Award Committee members recognize that not all of the criteria will be relevant in every case.

              Please submit letter of nomination and the nominee’s curriculum vitae or biography to Dr. Myra Gutin, Chair, Gould Award Committee (, by Tuesday, May 31, 2022

                   The 2022 Gould Award Committee (Dr. Myra Gutin, Ms. Nancy Kegan Smith, and Dr. Stacy Cordery) will process the letters of nomination and will name the 2022 award recipient.

                  The 2022 Gould Award will be presented on June 21, 2022, on the first anniversary of the founding of FLARE. It is the expectation of the committee that the award presentation will take place on YouTube and later will be available on the FLARE website.

Printer-Friendly Version

Inaugural Lifetime Institutional Members view all